PHILOSOPHY

thumbnail_IMG_2587.jpg

Urban Jungle  was born from the founders' desire to create an  "eco-friendly" hotel in the city.

Urban Jungle is also the result of a strong collaboration and friendship, with ARAXI Design Studio and its founder Delphine Sanoïan, working in Sao Paulo and Paris. The sharing of common values and an unwavering commitment of all facing pandemic, economic, security constraints ... were a strong factor in the success of the project.

ARAXI's stake on this project was to combine the requirements of urban hotels with current ecological concerns , creating a concept of ECO DESIGN rooms with vegan and eco-responsible sensibilities.

One of the first thinkers of eco-design is Victor Papanek (1927-1999), industrial designer and teacher, who dedicated his life to the promotion of responsible design for the planet and society. Avant-garde, in 1971 he wrote his manifesto “Design for the real world”, in which he disapproved of industrial products that he considered ill-adapted, futile and useless. He is interested in all aspects of design as well as their impact on the environment and people.

ARAXI has thus worked to create an eco-responsible hotel (for our conscience), modular (for our comfort), with a creative design (for our senses), going beyond the standards of a 3-star hotel.  

The challenge: launch a new hotel brand based on an eco-responsible model, being creative and in an urban environment. Pandemic and economic constraints came alongside the project and added fun...

In this building in the Orléans city center of the 1950s and 1960s (destroyed during World War II), ARAXI has chosen, on the ground floor, to play on the contrasts of volumes and colors, with an entrance-reception with black walls bordered by stone plates. raw cork, highlighting the backlit natural stone leaf docking station, created by ARAXI for Urban Jungle. Animal winks or restyled African masks punctuate, here and there,  the reception area and bring the identity of a place in harmony with nature and its occupants ...  

In contrast, the reception is open to a very bright space, where breakfasts are served, but it is also a relaxation or working room for our customers. We are exhibiting a fresco created by Rodolphe Barsakian of Vahan Studio, associated with ARAXI in the creation of visuals of an abundant and stylized nature for Urban Jungle. The concrete on the floor blends with the solid wood species of the furniture, in varied and warm colors.

At the Urban Jungle, everything has a purpose. Shared spaces are designed as places for people to meet, exchange, live. Everything is subject to reflection, interpretation, dialogue, in an environment of natural inspiration. The choice of very dark green color of the corridors with the walls and the ceiling, lit by natural bamboo lanterns, evokes the evenings in the deep jungle. On the ground, veins appear in the black carpet and invite us to walk.  Niches with renewed exhibitions tackle various themes, such as windows on our contemporary world, dealing with veganism as well as Gien porcelains located near Orléans.

As for the rooms , they are available in  5 collections with unique personalities, materials and colors:

- the CUBE rooms with an eco-design & vegan spirit

Personality: colorful, warm, welcoming

Colors: green, black, wood with a few touches of white or yellow

Materials: recycled wood, cork, bamboo, ceramic

- the WOOD rooms and the evocation of the forest

Personality: harmonious, protective, benevolent

Colors: shades of green and brown

Materials: recycled wood, raw cork, carpet with foam mat effect

- the STONE rooms and the beauty of the mineral

Personality: urban, industrial

Colors: shades of gray, blue, green

Materials: concrete, black wood or black metal, stone

- the FLOWER rooms and the power of plants

Personality: bright, abundant, dynamic

Colors: yellow, white, green, with woody and turquoise notes

Materials: solid wood, ceramic, cotton

- the BOOKBOX rooms when reading is a shared pleasure

Personality: sweet, romantic, dreamy, creative

Colors: nude or green, with touches of color and light or white wood

Materials: solid wood, ceramic, velor

In the hotel, if we have tried to use recycle items, some objects are new but designed in a fair trade approach or from organic farming, while others are the result of craftsmanship, handmade or reuse. Thus doors or shutters are found headboards or fishing nets are transformed into soft carpet.

Choices were made to have an overall consistency of the project in its approach and use.

" Araxi focuses on finding materials and materials to offer a unique, responsible and original concept. Going beyond the standard codes, catching people's interest or curiosity and providing a true experience is at the heart of our design " says  Delphine Sanoïan, applying with vigor and talent the affirmation of Victor Papanek: "Design has become the most powerful tool with which man trains his tools and his environment".

PHILOSOPHIE

thumbnail_IMG_2587.jpg

L'hôtel URBAN JUNGLE est né de la volonté des fondateurs de créer un hôtel "écologique et convivial" en milieu urbain.

"Urban Jungle", c'est aussi une belle rencontre, avec ARAXI Design Studio et sa fondatrice Delphine Sanoïan, travaillant entre Sao Paulo et Paris. Le partage de valeurs communes et un engagement indéfectible de tous face aux contraintes sanitaires, économiques, sécuritaires... ont été un facteur fort d'aboutissement du projet et de sa réalisation actuelle.

L’enjeu d’ARAXI sur ce projet était d'associer les exigences de l'hôtellerie urbaine aux préoccupations écologiques actuelles, créant un concept de chambres ECO DESIGN aux sensibilités vegan et éco-responsables.

L’un des premiers penseurs de l’éco-design est Victor Papanek (1927-1999), designer industriel et enseignant, qui consacra sa vie à la promotion d’un design responsable pour la planète et la société. Avant-gardiste, il écrit en 1971 son manifeste « Design for the real world », dans lequel il désapprouve les produits industriels qu’il considère mal-adaptés, futiles et inutiles. Il s’intéresse à tous les aspects du design ainsi qu’à leurs impacts sur l’environnement et les gens.

ARAXI a ainsi travaillé pour créer un hôtel éco-responsable (pour nos consciences), modulable (pour notre confort), au design créatif (pour nos sens), en allant au-delà des standards d’un hôtel 3 étoiles. 

Le défi : lancer une nouvelle marque d’hôtel s’appuyant sur un modèle  éco-responsable, original créatif et en milieu urbain.

Dans cet immeuble de l'hyper-centre orléanais des années 50-60, ARAXI a choisi, au rez-de-chaussée, de jouer sur les contrastes de volumes et de couleurs, avec une entrée-réception aux murs noirs bordés de plaques de liège brut, mettant en valeur la station d'accueil en feuille de pierre naturelle rétro-éclairée, créée par ARAXI pour Urban Jungle. Des clins d'oeil animaliers ou de masques africains restylés ponctuent, ici et là,  l'espace d'accueil et apportent l'identité d'un lieu en harmonie avec la nature et ses occupants...  

En contraste, l'accueil est ouvert sur un espace très lumineux, où sont servis les petits déjeuners, mais c'est aussi un salon de détente ou de travail pour nos clients. Nous exposons une fresque créée par Rodolphe Barsakian du Vahan Studio, associé à ARAXI dans la réalisation de visuels d'une nature foisonnante et stylisée pour Urban Jungle. Le béton du sol se marrie aux essences de bois massif du mobilier, aux couleurs variées et chaleureuses.

A l'Urban Jungle, les espaces communs sont pensés comme des espaces de rencontres actives, des espaces vivants. Tout est sujet à la réflexion, à l’interprétation, au dialogue, dans un environnement d'inspiration naturelle. Le choix de couleur verte très sombre des couloirs aux murs et au plafond, éclairés par des lanternes en bambou naturel, évoque les soirs dans la jungle profonde. Au sol, des veines apparaissent dans la moquette noire et nous invitent à cheminer. Des niches aux expositions renouvelées abordent des thèmes variés, comme des fenêtres sur notre monde contemporain, traitant aussi bien du veganisme que des porcelaines de Gien situées près d'Orléans.

Quant aux chambres, elles se déclinent en 5 collections aux personnalités, matériaux et couleurs uniques :

- les chambres CUBE à l'esprit eco-design & vegan

Personnalité: colorée, chaleureuse, accueillante

Couleurs: vert, noir, bois avec quelques touches de blanc ou de jaune.

Matières: bois recyclé, liège, bambou, céramique

- les chambres WOOD et l'évocation de la forêt

Personnalité: harmonieuse, protectrice, bienveillante

Couleurs: nuances de vert et de marron

Matières: bois recyclé, liège brut, moquette effet tapis de mousse

- les chambres STONE et la beauté du minéral

Personnalité: urbaine, industriel

Couleurs: nuances de gris, bleu, vert

Matières: béton, bois noir ou métal noir, pierre

- les chambres FLOWER et le pouvoir du végétal

Personnalité: lumineuse, foisonnante, dynamique

Couleurs: jaune, blanc, vert, avec des notes boisées et turquoises

Matières: bois massif, céramique, coton

- les chambres BOOKBOX et le plaisir de lire partagé

Personnalité: douce, romantique, rêveuse, créative

Couleurs: Dominante nude ou dominante verte, avec touches de couleurs et bois clair ou blanc

Matières: bois massif, céramique, velour

Dans chaque espace de l’hôtel, certaines pièces ou objets ajoutés sont neufs mais conçus dans une démarche de commerce équitable ou issus d’une agriculture biologique tandis que d’autres sont le fruit de l’artisanat, du fait main ou du réemploi. Ainsi des portes ou des volets se retrouvent têtes de lit ou des filets de pêche se transforment en moquette moelleuse.

Des choix sont mis en place afin d’avoir une cohérence globale du projet dans sa démarche et son usage.

"Araxi se concentre sur la recherche de matières et matériaux afin de proposer un concept unique, responsable et original. Sortir des codes du standard, attirer l’attention et faire vivre une expérience est au coeur de notre conception" selon Delphine Sanoïan, appliquant avec vigueur et talent l'affirmation de Victor Papanek: "Le design est devenu l'outil le plus puissant avec lequel l'homme forme ses outils et son environnement".